Daily Archives: June 30, 2012

Omnivore: Trees.

Omnivore is a regular report on some of the things that I’ve been enjoying during the week (or thereabouts).

Too many little things to take care of this week, so I’ve been going through Mercè Rodoreda’s Death in Spring very slowly.

I also watched Delicatessen for the first time. Except that after finishing it, there was a strong sense of déjà vu. I think I saw the last section before (from about the flooded room onwards) on the telly or something, but I’m not sure which channel I would have seen it on, so it doesn’t seem all that likely. I don’t know anyone who would have watched it with me either, so it can’t be that too. And the thing is that once you think you’ve seen it before, every single scene in the film eventually becomes oddly familiar and soon you can’t tell if you watched a part of the film before or simply the whole thing.

Glitch in the matrix, maybe.

d

Leave a comment

Filed under Omnivore