Let’s read some Thomas Bernhard.

In a heavily damaged condition, as you would say, I finally sat down, after I had run through this detestable and trashy and moronic Austria, in my characteristically breathless way, I will have you know, on a conglomerate boulder on the Salzburger Haunsberg, from which I looked down on the city of Salzburg, totally stultified by its inhabitants, totally annihilated by its architects, your colleagues, but for all that still basking in its [own] megalomania.

Excerpt from “Burst into Flames.  A Travel Journal to a Former Friend” a translation of “In Flammen aufgegangen. Reisebericht an einen einstigen Freund”

[Full text at The Philosophical Worldview Artist.]

d

1 Comment

Filed under Literature

One response to “Let’s read some Thomas Bernhard.

  1. Pingback: Rojak: Sebald’s poetry. | Who Killed Lemmy Caution?

Leave a comment