What the student bought.

Yes, in celebration of the end of the semester, I ordered/pre-ordered some books. Here’s what’s coming:

The Lifelong-Ambition-to-Collect-Julio-Cortázar-Books Purchases

62: A Model Kit
Julio Cortázar
Translated by Gregory Rabassa

Autonauts of the Cosmoroute
Carol Dunlop and Julio Cortázar
Translated by Anne McLean

I’ve actually read one of these before, and not the other. But it is part of my happy ambition to build on my Cortázar library. These are also the only books that will be sent almost immediately. If you don’t count the stationery, that is.

Stationery Purchase

Moleskine Pocket Plain Notebook Red

Well, my little black one is running out of pages.

The Finally-It-Is-In-Paperback Purchases

Is That a Fish in Your Ear?: Translation and the Meaning of Everything
David Bellos
To be released: 16th October 2012

Microscripts
Robert Walser
Illustrated by Maira Kalman
Translated by Susan Bernofsky
To be released: 21st November 2012

Yes, these will be released far ahead in the year, but I’ve been waiting on these for ages. Robert Walser is finally joining my library! The David Bellos created quite a buzz last year, and being interested in translated literature as I am, I’m sure it’ll prove fascinating.

The Old-Addictions Purchases

The Miracle Cures of Dr. Aira
César Aira
Translated by Katherine Silver
To be released: 16th October 2012

The Return
Roberto Bolaño
Translated by Chris Andrews
To be released: 20th September 2012

There were actually three Bolaño books I was considering: this one, The Secret of Evil, and the new one coming… The uhhhhh True Woes of the Policeman (well, I’m actually very sure that’s the wrong title). I’ve had my eye on this for a long while, so I’m glad to see a paperback edition. As for the César Aira, certainly sounds like what you’d expect from him. One thing that strikes me about Aira books is that New Directions generally puts out very pretty editions of them, and that makes me doubly happy.

The Too-Far-Away-To-Really-Worry Purchase

Two American Scenes
Lydia Davis and Eliot Weinberger
To be released: 17th January 2013

I’m quite fond of Lydia Davis’s work, and I thought it’d be good to have some essays in, so this is one of two essay books. It’s a very short volume to be released really far into the future, so I’m kind of banking on this to be something of a surprise for myself by the time it actually gets released.

The New-Editions-of-Old-Classics Purchases

Exercises in Style
Raymond Queneau
Translated by Barbara Wright
To be released: 18th October 2012

Locus Solus
Raymond Roussel
Translated by Rupert Copeland Cuningham
To be released: 21st June 2012

Watermark: An Essay on Venice
Joseph Brodsky
To be released: 6th September 2012

Another luminary of the I-can’t-believe-it-took-so-long variety joins the shelves in Joseph Brodsky. I also have those two Oulipo books down because… Well, they’re the sorts of books that people tell you to read. That’s a poor basis for making cultural consumption decisions, but they do sound quite precisely like the sort of things I would be happy with.

The Special-Treat Purchase

The Plain in Flames
Juan Rulfo
Translated by Ilan Stavans
To be released: 1st September 2012

I have very hazy memories of when I read bits and pieces of Pedro Páramo. So much has changed since then, and I am eager to return to the writing of Juan Rulfo.

d

1 Comment

Filed under Literature

One response to “What the student bought.

  1. Pingback: Rojak: Record Store Day | Who Killed Lemmy Caution?

Leave a Reply

