Chapter One.

[1]

I wrote my first post for this blog promising very little. I think that was a good strategy.

[2]

A year ago, I started up this page with the idea that I would use it to share links and news of interest. A year. I didn’t quite think it would make it to a year. I was entering this half-thinking that it would peter out in three weeks and I’d shelf the idea for some other stage of my life. I’ve been blogging for a while now. I know the cycles that these projects can assume for me.

[3]

No, I’m not about to get all sentimental. But it is the birthday of Who Killed Lemmy Caution?, and I figured that in lieu of being extremely creative or extremely concise, it wouldn’t be so bad to have a look at what went well and what didn’t go so well in our first year.

We’re doing well, in a sense. We survived. We’ve had a good go at being diligent with postings, without this blog being (let’s be honest) a huge priority in my life. We’ve covered a reasonable range of stuff, if I dare say so myself, ranging from the more serious to the more eclectic. I mean, honestly, we even shared news about Jeffrey Eugenides’s vest.

We’re not massively popular. No way. We average somewhere between five to ten views a day. That can feel like a bit of a letdown sometimes, but other times, it’s called exceeding expectations.

So in a way, we’re not doing all that bad. Not superb, but not bad.

[4]

A look at my tag cloud tells me that my favourite topic appears to be Radiohead, followed by Bob Dylan, Samuel Beckett, and David Lynch in that sort of order. Also in the conversation are Roberto Bolaño, Björk, and James Joyce. I didn’t predict this sort of skewed representation (towards music) at the start, but I suspect most of it is down to the fact that I cover a smaller group of musicians as compared to writers. This is somewhat verified by the fact that my most popular category remains Literature (145 posts), with Music in second place (102 posts).

[5]

I don’t like to make promises with these blogging things. They’re like New Year resolutions (although it is appropriately the Chinese New Year): You either make them to fail or to succeed all too easily. That said, one of the things I would like to see in the future is more time spent onwriting long-reads of a sort. So far, I’ve taken to calling these Features. I haven’t had great success in producing a lot of content like this (actually, I only had four for the year) for a few reasons. Chiefly, I don’t make any money from this, and because I do have a lot of other work in a number of other places, it often becomes difficult to prioritise writing at length for this blog. Another reason (excuse, what-have-you) is that I didn’t plan to do so initially. The plan was simply to share stuff about the things that I like or love, and anything else would be a bonus. Having not planned for it, I had no consistent way of making it work.

And a third reason: we didn’t gain as much traction as we would have liked. I would have loved doing interviews and the like, but it’s simply not feasible at this stage of the blog’s life.

No promises, as I said, but I hope to do more of this in the future. I won’t be doing serious criticism like I do at school or anything as yet (that would probably be a tad optimistic) but I will try to write more in the way of impressions, special features (like last year’s Summer Reading List), event coverage, and maybe one or two surprises. I don’t think the blog will gain a tremendous amount of traction in the coming year, but if it does, it might also make talking to various people easier, thus giving us more content.

Another thing I would like to do is to live up to a promise that I made or an intention that I had a year ago. I’ll try to bring a bit more attention to the arts and culture scene of Singapore. My own fields of interest definitely do not aligned 100% with the arts in Singapore, being concentrated more usually in Europe, Latin America, and China, but there’s lots of good work in these parts that I should definitely be talking about more.

[6]

Happy birthday, WKLC. And to all the people who’ve stuck with us, it’s no luxury cruise liner, but here’s to even better times on our little drunken boat.

d

1 Comment

Filed under Features, Meta

One response to “Chapter One.

  1. Pingback: Rojak: Covering Leonard Cohen. | Who Killed Lemmy Caution?

Leave a Reply

