Nota Bene: Pessoa.

“In order to understand, I destroyed myself. To understand is to forget to love. I know nothing at once so false and so meaningful as that saying of Leonardo da Vinci that one can only love or hate something once one has understood it.

Solitude torments me; company oppresses me. The presence of another person distracts me from my thoughts; I dream their presence in a peculiarly abstracted way that none of my analytical powers can define.”

The Book of Disquiet, 152 [234]
Fernando Pessoa
As translated by Margaret Jull Costa

1 Comment

Filed under Literature, Nota Bene

One response to “Nota Bene: Pessoa.

  1. Pingback: Rojak: “It killed a swan.” | Who Killed Lemmy Caution?

Leave a Reply

