Nota Bene: Jazz.

That’s right. It’s like improvising in jazz. You don’t ask a jazz musician, “But what are you going to play?” He’ll laugh at you. He has a theme, a series of chords he has to respect, and then he takes up his trumpet or his saxophone and he begins. It’s not a question of idea. He performs through a series of different internal pulsations. Sometimes it comes out well, sometimes it doesn’t. It’s the same with me. I’m a bit embarrassed to sign my stories sometimes. The novels, no, because the novels I work on a lot; there’s a whole architecture. But my stories, it’s as if they were dictated to me by something that is in me, but it’s not me who’s responsible. Well, since it does appear they are mine even so, I guess I should accept them!

Julio Cortázar

[via The Paris Review]

d

1 Comment

Filed under Literature, Nota Bene

One response to “Nota Bene: Jazz.

  1. Pingback: Rojak: Bye bye, July. | Who Killed Lemmy Caution?

Leave a Reply

